Violence against women

All around the world, women face various forms of violence: abortion of the female foetus, infanticides of girls, genital mutilation in the name of culture, murder in the name of honour, trafficking, sexual tourism, forced sterilization, murder because of the insufficiency of their dowry, rape, systematic rape as weapon of war, incest, sexual harassment, conjugal violence, etc.

Violence constitutes a violation of fundamental human rights and liberties. It restricts their personal freedom to act according to their desires and their needs and prevents them from fully participating in the social, political and economic life of their society.

In spite of the equality of men and women before the law, women still have no equal access to economic, political and ideological power. Women continue to be victims of various forms of violence because implicit social norms continue to resist official norms and maintain inequalities between the two sexes. These inequalities express themselves and are passed on by education, culture, religion and are often amplified by social and economic inequality.

gauche2011.jpg

418 652 9761

Violence fait aux femmes

Partout dans le monde, les femmes subissent différentes formes de violence : l’avortement du fœtus de sexe féminin, les infanticides des fillettes,  la mutilation génitale au nom de coutume, l’assassinat des femmes au nom d’honneur, le trafic de femmes, le tourisme sexuel, la stérilisation forcée, le meurtre des femmes en raison de l’insuffisance de la dot, le viol, le viol systématique comme arme de guerre, l’inceste, le harcèlement sexuel, la violence conjugale, etc.

La violence constitue une violation des droits de la personne humaine et des libertés fondamentales.  Elle brime ainsi les femmes dans leur liberté d’être, d’agir selon leurs désirs et leurs besoins et les empêche de participer pleinement à la vie sociale, politique ou économique de la société.

Malgré l’égalité des hommes et des femmes devant la loi, celles-ci n’ont toujours pas accès égal au pouvoir économique, politique et idéologique.  Les femmes continuent d’être victimes de différentes formes de violence et ce, parce que les normes implicites résistent à la norme officielle et continuent de maintenir les inégalités entre les deux sexes.  Cette inégalité s’exprime et se transmet par l’éducation, la culture, la religion et souvent, s’amplifie par l’inégalité sociale et économique.

gauche2011.jpg

418 652 9761