Awareness raising Activities and training

Immigrant women are more vulnerable to conjugal violence because of their situation as immigrants.

They are generally more isolated and have a limited social network. A large number of immigrant women do not know their rights, the resources available or the fact that conjugal violence is considered a criminal act in Canada.

Women who have been victims of political persecution are afraid of authorities and do not rely easily on institutions which represent the government. Many women coming from countries where the police play a repressive role prefer to endure the violence than to contact the police.

It is also possible that their new social environment justifies conjugal violence because of the frustrations that newly arrived couples feel.

Among immigrant women, those sponsored by their spouses and those waiting to be sponsored are even more vulnerable to conjugal violence. They often believe and wrongly so, that they may be deported from Canada if they denounce the violence.

MFI offers training sessions Double Silence: Immigrant women victims of conjugal violence, to health and social services professionals as well as to different community organisations which offer services to immigrants.

The objective of these training sessions is to raise the awareness of the participants regarding the difficulties faced by immigrant women victims of conjugal violence by proposing an intercultural approach in their interventions with immigrant women in order to improve communication and to establish a confidence based relationship.

The training sessions are offered on demand.

gauche2011.jpg

418 652 9761

Sensibilitation & formation

Les femmes immigrantes sont plus vulnérables à la  problématique de la violence conjugale en raison de leur situation d’immigrantes.   En général, elles sont isolées et ont un réseau social limité.  La plupart d’entre elles ne connaissent pas leurs droits, les ressources, et le caractère criminel que prend la violence conjugale au Canada.

Les femmes qui ont été victimes de persécution politique ont peur des autorités et ne font pas confiance facilement aux institutions qui représentent le gouvernement.  Beaucoup de femmes venant des pays où la police joue un rôle répressif préfèrent subir la violence qu’appeler la police. 

Il arrive que le milieu social justifie la violence conjugale entre personnes nouvellement arrivées en raison de la frustration qu’elles vivent face aux changements. Elles invoquent ainsi leur culture pour expliquer la violence conjugale chez elles.

Parmi les femmes immigrantes, celles parrainées par leur conjoint et celles en attente de parrainage sont très vulnérables à la violence conjugale.  Elles croient souvent et faussement, qu’elles pourraient être renvoyées du Canada si elles dénoncent une situation de violence.

 
La Maison offre des séances de formation Double Silence : femmesimmigrantes victimes de violence conjugale, aux intervenants du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux et aux organismes communautaires qui offrent des services aux immigrantes.  

Cette formation a pour but de sensibiliser davantage les intervenants aux difficultés des femmes immigrantes victimes de violence conjugale en  proposant  une approche interculturelle dans leurs interventions pour améliorer la communication et pour établir la relation de confiance.

Cette formation est donnée sur appel et sur mesure.

gauche2011.jpg

418 652 9761