Consequences of conjugale violence

Conjugal violence has destructive effects on all aspects of the life of women who are victims and their children. It harms their physical and mental health, destroys their self confidence and their sense of effectiveness.

A large number of raped women suffer from nervous breakdowns, anxiety, general fatigue and insomnia. Conjugal violence is the cause of more serious injuries in women than road accidents, rape and theft combined.

Conjugal violence damages the personal and financial autonomy of women. It is among the important causes of incapacity and death in women in industrial nations as well as developing countries.

Conjugal violence is established gradually in the life of a couple. The aggressor can use different tactics to control his spouse and to exert his power. Conjugal violence can take various forms: physical, psychological, verbal, economic and sexual violence.

Conjugal violence manifests itself in a vicious cycle which is constantly renewed. The cycle repeats and each time the level of violence increases in frequency and intensity.

gauche2011.jpg

418 652 9761

Les conséquences de la violence conyugale

La violence conjugale a des effets destructeurs sur tous les aspects de la vie des femmes victimes et de leurs enfants. Elle nuit à  leur Santé  physique et mentale, détruit  leur estime de soi et leur sens de l’efficacité.  

Un grand nombre de femmes violentées souffrent de dépression nerveuse, d’angoisse, de fatigue générale et d’insomnie.  Parmi les causes de blessures graves subies par les femmes, la  violence conjugale fait plus de victimes que les accidents de la route, les agressions pour vol et les viols réunis.

Cette violence porte atteinte à l’autonomie personnelle et financière des femmes.  Elle est parmi les causes importantes d’invalidité et de décès chez les femmes et ce, à la fois dans les pays industrialisés et dans ceux en voie de développement. 

  

La violence conjugale s’installe dans une relation de couple de façon progressive. L’agresseur peut utiliser des tactiques différentes pour contrôler sa conjointe et pour exercer son pourvoir. Cette violence peut prendre différentes formes : violence physique, psychologique, verbale, économique et sexuelle

La violence conjugale se manifeste dans un cercle vicieux qui se renouvelle continuellement.  À travers ce cycle, la violence tend à augmenter en fréquence et en gravité.

gauche2011.jpg

418 652 9761