Children exposed to violence

Every year in Canada, half a million children are exposed to conjugal violence. These children often witness scenes of violence or they are near as the violent acts take place.

According to a study led by Health Canada in 2006, 60 to 80 % of children whose mothers are a victim of conjugal violence are a witness to this violence.

For too long, the negative and long-lasting effects of this exposure was neglected or minimized.  But today, the results of numerous studies leave no doubt as to the seriousness of the psychological and behavioral consequences on children who are witnesses of aggression towards their mothers. Furthermore, these studies demonstrate that the exposure of children to conjugal violence has negative effects on their social and academic development.

The report on violence towards children, stemming from a study led by the General Secretary of the United Nations, demonstrates that children living in a context of family violence can themselves be victims of violence. Furthermore, according to this same report, children exposed to conjugal violence risk having more aggressive behaviour than their peers. In fact, children exposed to conjugal violence resort more easily to violence to resolve their conflicts or develop a higher tolerance to violence.

Consequences of conjugal violence on children vary from one child to another. In fact, several factors, such as the age of the child, the proximity to the violence, the duration and the severity of the acts of aggression can influence the response of the child to the violence. However, all children exposed to violence have difficulty living in the atmosphere of fear and insecurity that exists in their families.

Generally, children exposed to conjugal violence feel fear, anxiousness and powerlessness.   They can blame themselves and feel responsible for the violence which their mother faces.

Intervention

Mother-child intervention at MFI relies on the empowerment of mothers.

 It is based on the perspective of developing the capacity of mothers and their children to act.

The principal objectives of intervention with mothers are:

  • To restore to women their parental authority.

  • To restore their capacity to fully play their role as mothers;

  • To restore their capacity to maintain successful relationships with their children

  • To improve their knowledge of the consequences of conjugal violence on the behaviour and socio-emotional development of their children.

The main objectives of intervention with children are:

  • To help children to  express their experiences so that they better understand their situation;

  • To end the sense of guilt and responsibility that children feel in regards to the violence suffered by their mother;

  • To encourage children to participate in various activities and sports so that they can live their child's life.

Intercultural intervention with mothers and their children is based on their reality, respects their comfort level and their cultural values all the while taking a stand against violence. In intervention with children their mother’s support is sought throughout.

gauche2011.jpg

418 652 9761

Enfants exposés à la violence

Chaque année au Canada, un demi-million d’enfants est exposé à la violence conjugale.  Ces enfants  sont souvent témoins de scènes de violence ou  se trouvent à proximité au moment où les actes violents sont posés.

Selon une étude menée par Santé canada en 2006, de 60 à 80 pour cent des enfants dont la mère est victime de violence conjugale sont témoins de  cette violence.

Pendant trop longtemps, les effets négatifs et durables de l’exposition des enfants à la violence conjugale ont été négligés ou minimisés.  Mais aujourd’hui, les résultats de nombreuses études ne laissent plus aucun doute  quant à la gravité des conséquences psychologiques et comportementales sur les enfants témoins d’agression envers leur mère.  De plus, ces études démontrent que l’exposition des enfants à la violence conjugale a des effets négatifs sur leur développement social et scolaire.

Le rapport sur la violence envers les enfants, issu de l’étude menée par le Secrétariat général de Nations unies, démontre que les enfants vivant dans un contexte de violence familiale peuvent eux-mêmes être victimes de  violence.  Également, selon ce rapport, les enfants exposés à la violence conjugale risquent d’avoir des comportements plus agressifs que leurs pairs. 


En effet, ces enfants ont recours plus facilement à la violence pour résoudre leurs conflits ou développent une grande tolérance face à la violence.

Les conséquences de la violence conjugale sur les enfants varient  d’un enfant à l’autre. En effet, plusieurs facteurs comme l’âge de l’enfant, la proximité de la violence, la durée et la sévérité des actes d’agression peuvent influencer la réponse de l’enfant face à ceux-ci. Toutefois,  tous les enfants exposés à la violence vivent difficilement l’atmosphère de peur et d’insécurité  dans leur famille.

En général, les enfants exposés à la violence conjugale vivent la peur, l’anxiété et le sentiment d’impuissance.  Ils peuvent se blâmer et se sentir responsables de la violence que vit leur mère. 

Intervention :

L’ intervention mère-enfant  à la Maison pour femmes immigrantes s’appuie sur la perspective du développement du pouvoir d’agir des mères et de leurs enfants. Celui-ci pâtit de la dynamique de la violence conjugale. 

Les objectifs principaux de l’intervention auprès des mères sont :

  • Redonner aux mères leur pouvoir d’agir sur leurs enfants;

  • Restaurer leurs capacités de jouer adéquatement leur rôle de mère auprès de leurs enfants;

  • Rétablir leurs capacités à entretenir une relation de qualité avec leurs enfants;

  • Améliorer leurs connaissances des conséquences de la violence conjugale sur le comportement et le développement socio-affectif des enfants.

  • Informer les femmes des ressources disponibles dans le milieu pour elles et pour leurs enfants.

 

Les objectifs principaux de l’intervention auprès des enfants sont :

  • Aider les enfants à exprimer leur vécu pour qu’ils comprennent mieux leur situation;

  • Déculpabiliser et déresponsabiliser les enfants face à la violence vécue par leur mère;

  • Encourager les enfants à participer aux différentes activités (jeux, sports et loisir) afin qu’ils vivent leur vie d’enfant.


L’intervention  interculturelle auprès des mères et des enfants se base sur leur réalité tout en prenant position contre la violence et  tout en respectant leur rythme et leurs valeurs culturelles. L’intervention auprès des enfants, tout au long de son processus, s’appuie sur l’implication des mères.

gauche2011.jpg

418 652 9761