Analysis & Intervention

Violence against women is the result of a historically unequal balance of power between men and women. Conjugal violence is a social problem which reflects the socio-political and economic structure of a society.

We often hear about the distress, difficulties and the loss of control of the aggressive partner. In reality, acts which infringe on the freedom to act and the freedom to think and which forces or maintains women in a subordinate position are not the result of a loss of control of the aggressive partner but rather a taking of control and an assertion of their power over women.

Intervention

Feminist intercultural intervention in MFI recognizes the factors which favor and maintain women in a victimized state. This type of intervention aims at social change as much as at individual change and encourages women to re-appropriate their personal and collective power and to act in accordance with them.

Counsellors work within a perspective of equality in relation to the women which promotes the sharing of information, knowledge and personal experiences.

Feminist intercultural intervention in MFI:

  • Respects women’s cultural values, faith, sexual orientation, comfort level and their decisions all the while taking a stand against violence against women and children.

  • Works with women without prejudice or judgement and in all confidentiality.

  • Believes in the strength and capacity of women and encourages them to develop their potential.

  • Develops solidarity between women, by the sharing of common experiences.

  • Works with women to develop a social consciousness of the oppression of women and to encourage their social implication.

 

Notes
Victimization: society has taught women to be victims; this brings a feeling of lack of freedom to be what we are and to do what we want because of the fear of being judged or reprimanded or assaulted or rejected.

Intercultural approach: A process of intervention which is based on respect for the person, for their vision of the world, for their value system and for their needs.

gauche2011.jpg

418 652 9761

Analyse & Intervention

La violence à l’égard des femmes est la manifestation des rapports de force historiquement inégaux entre les hommes et les femmes. La violence conjugale est un problème d’ordre social et elle est le reflet de la structure sociopolitique et économique de la société.

Nous entendons souvent parler de la détresse, des difficultés et de la perte de contrôle du conjoint agresseur. En réalité, les actes et les gestes qui attentent à la liberté d’agir et de penser de la femme et qui la forcent ou la maintiennent en état de subordination ne sont pas les conséquences d’une perte de contrôle du conjoint mais plutôt la prise de contrôle et l’affirmation de son pouvoir.

Intervention

L’intervention interculturelle féministe à la MFI reconnaît les facteurs qui favorisent et entretiennent la victimisation des femmes.  Ce type d’intervention vise le changement social autant que le changement individuel et encourage les femmes à s’approprier leur pouvoir personnel et collectif et à agir en lien avec ceux-ci.

Les intervenantes travaillent dans une optique d’égalité dans les rapports avec les femmes, en favorisant le partage des connaissances, du vécu et du pouvoir.

L’intervention interculturelle féministe de la MFI vise à :

  • Respecter les femmes dans leurs valeurs culturelles, leurs croyances, leur orientation sexuelle, leur rythme et leurs décisions, tout en prenant position contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux enfants.

 

  • Accueillir et intervenir sans préjugés et sans jugement, en toute confidentialité.

  • Croire en leurs forces et leurs capacités, les encourager à développer leur potentiel.

 

  • Développer la solidarité entre femmes, par le partage d'expériences communes.

  • Travailler à développer une conscience sociale de l’oppression des femmes et favoriser leur implication sociale.

 

Victimisation : La société a  appris aux femmes à être des  victimes;  ce qui  amène un sentiment de manque de liberté d’être ce qu’on est et de faire ce qu’on veut par crainte d’être jugées, réprimandées, agressées ou rejetées. 

Approche interculturelle 
Processus d’aide qui se fonde sur le respect de la personne, de sa vision du monde, de son système de valeurs et de ses besoins.
Approche qui permet le repérage des différentes appartenances. 

gauche2011.jpg

418 652 9761